My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Don’t think, write!

on March 17, 2010

I was watching “Finding Forrester” again on DVD last night and this line from the movie jumped out at me!

For those of you who have never seen this movie, it stars Sean Connery, Anna Paquin and Rob Brown (and Matt Damon makes a cameo!)  It’s the story of Jamel, a talented 16 year old basketball player in New York City whose secret passion is writing.  William Forrester is a reclusive Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist who never gave the world a second novel.  After an accidental meeting, Forrester becomes Jamal’s unlikely mentor, providing guidance to help develop the young man’s exceptional skills.  Soon, Forrester’s harsh view of the world begins to change as both men learn lessons from each other about life – and the importance of friendship.

Anyway, I guess the reason I like the movie is cause it’s about writing, and I’ve been struggling to find the inspiration to continue with my own creative writing latterly.  At one point in the movie, William Forrester sits Jamal down at a typewriter and Jamal says something about needing to think about what he’s going to write.  Forrester says to him, “The first rule of writing: don’t think, just write!”  That really impacted on me – I think too many times I’m thinking, okay so what do I need to write today, when I should be just sitting down and writing!  That’s part of the enjoyment of it anyway, isn’t it, and we do it because we enjoy it, surely!

I need to go and write … not think 😉

2 responses to “Don’t think, write!

  1. Carm says:

    That sounds like a wonderful movie. I think it’s could be true statement there that you just need to sit down and write and don’t even think about it. Over thinking it makes it harder to write when you try to sit down and make yourself write something. Just sit down in front of the computer and let your fingers talk well sort of. lol

  2. ljastar says:

    Its true. i did a writing course a few months ago and there was a big emphasis on writing something EVERYDAY. Anything, thoughts, descibing a room whatever and honestly it helped me write more 😀

Leave a Reply

