My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Childhood memories

on February 10, 2011

Sitting here at work, sipping on a bottle of “creaming soda” and the flavour just brought me right back to my childhood years and when I would be allowed to go out early on a Saturday morning (which usually meant about 6am!) on Dad’s refuse truck rounds and he would treat me to my favourite food and drink for the trip.  For some reason, I always chose creaming soda, although I don’t remember it being burgundy coloured like today’s one is!

Do you have any memories like that from growing up?  Do they bring back happy or painful memories and thoughts for you?  I guess in this case, it’s a happy memory cause it reminds me of spending one-on-one time with my Dad and feeling special cause he was letting me do something with just him (which being a middle child always felt like it was a rare occurance – haha!)

Leave a Reply

