My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Observations from a weekend

on July 24, 2011

I detest winter … 

I’ve said it before, and it’s worth mentioning again 😉 … I really do not like the winter months, when everything is just damp and cold and miserable!  It is particularly miserable when you arrive home from being out on a Sunday evening, and discover that the power has been out in your area for the last two hours and you have no idea when it’ll be restored :S  Cue fumbling around by the light of my pen light on my key ring for candles and matches and something to hold them with – ha ha!  Even worse, was that it happened to be the night when an “antarctic” cold snap was working it’s way across the country and snow is expected to fall to sea-level tonight!  Cue trying to fill a hot water bottle with tap “hot” water to try and get warm!

Fortunately, the power has now been restored (hence why I can type this blog!) and after a cup of tea and REAL hot water bottle later, I can be warm again 🙂

I detest booing … 

Seriously, what is with the barbaric past time of booing the opposition whenever they do anything during a sporting fixture?!  I went to a rugby match the other night and every time the opposition goal-kicker would be lining up an attempt on goal, a certain section of the crowd in attendance would boo most unsportsmanlike 😦  I honestly don’t know who dreamt up this disrespectful way to behave but why do people do it?  Don’t both teams deserve the right to be treated in a like manner on the field of play?  I mean, after all, they are there for our “entertainment” and enjoyment anyway, so why should we be showing our displeasure towards them?  I feel quite sad, actually, that people can’t just treat people with equal respect and honour, in particular, on the sports field.  Wouldn’t it be fantastic to one day go to a sports event and both teams, regardless of who you were supporting, who applauded and encouraged no matter what they did?  Or am I just naive and living in a bubble to think people could be so respectful?  :S

 

2 responses to “Observations from a weekend

  1. Carm says:

    That sucks that you don’t find out until you get home that the power has been out for 2 hours if not longer, especially when it’s so cold outside. There was not spring her in Vancouver, went from fall, winter to summer. Spring was M.I.A. everything was late being put in the ground for growing so might be more money for fruits and vegs. :s

    I understand booing at say a player that the fans hate, but to boo every thing time is kind of too much. For our goalie in hockey he has a nickname of Lu, but it sure sounds like boo sometimes. Parents had to explain to kids that they are not boo, but saying Luuuuu.

    Hope all the power will stay on and that you will not get home to a cold flat.

  2. Jess says:

    I personally don’t reckon any kind of booing is okay, to be honest. I mean, why “hate” any of the players anyway? They’ve trained hard and well to get to where they are in their sport – shouldn’t we be encouraging, no matter whether or not they are on an opposition team or whatever?! I guess I’m just weird, wanting to encourage rather than run others down all the time as the world seems to want to always do 😦

Leave a Reply

