My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Currently reading …

on January 14, 2012

I do love a good legal thriller, for some bizarre reason, and so I was most pleased to receive John Grisham’s latest novel, The Litigators, for a Christmas gift last year.

I’m actually finding I haven’t been able to set aside time to just sit and read since Christmas, however, so it is actually quite nice to be “savouring” the book, as it were; not reading it in two days and then having nothing to read!

The basic premis of the story is a lawyer who is sick of working in a leading law firm, battery-hen style, and he gives it up one day to work in a tiny two-lawyer (well, three after he comes on board!) struggling law firm that fights for the “little guy.”

I’m only early days into the story but already I’m loving the way Grisham, as always, enables the reader to imagine exactly what is going on, yet manages to put twists and turns in that you don’t see coming (I reckon there’ll be a major twist towards the “end” of the story too … or maybe he’ll fool me and NOT do what I expect!)

And I just know there’ll be a film out soon based on the book – it’s one of those stories that you can just SEE a film director getting hold of and making a really intriguing picture out of it!

Leave a Reply

