My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Book Review: Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

on May 20, 2012

Salmon Fishing In The Yemen by Paul Torday
My rating:  3 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed the story of this book, although at times found the style of the writing quite hard to find the story in.  It’s written in the form of letters, dairy entries, emails, government memorandums, etc, so at times felt quite mixed up, but at other times, seemed perfectly in order – if you get what I mean!

I also had the opportunity to see the film adaptation over the weekend and found the story a lot clearer and easier to follow in that medium 😉  I also preferred the “end” of the story in the film version, to the book version, so that may have had some bearing on my total enjoyment of the book.

I still would be interested in reading some of Paul’s other books, however – it would be interesting to see if he uses the same style in all his writings …

Leave a Reply

