My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Flushing out the Basin …

on September 14, 2012

Ok, so I wasn’t going to post this for a couple of days but following Mark Geenty’s article on http://www.stuff.co.nz today:  (http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/cricket/7674268/CEO-confident-the-Basin-will-be-ready-on-time) I thought it was good timing to add my ten cents worth (I’d say two or even five cents worth but we don’t have those coins anymore!)  😉

After a visit to the Mount Victoria lookout recently, and spying this sight from a distance:

Looking rather brown 😦

… I decided that the hallowed turf of the Basin Reserve warranted closer inspection.

Of course, I didn’t pick the best day for it, as it was rather cloudy and windy the weekend that I finally got the chance to have a wander, but at least I got the chance to see what they were doing to my beloved cricket ground …

At the entrances to the ground, visitors are greeted with this sign:

Sewage or drainage?

… which did intrigue me slightly as I was under the impression that the grounds staff were undertaking a project to improve the drainage of the pitch surface … not that they were renovating the toilet blocks!  😉  Although, this might not be such a bad idea, given the state some of the amenities were in the last time I needed them at the Basin!  Ha ha!

I was, however, pleased to see that the pitch block is looking healthy and green, and hopefully plenty of runs and wickets will be scored on it in the months following December this year …

A green top?

I do hope, as well as replacing the lush, green grass of the Basin Reserve outfield, the workers fix the horrible mess they have made of the precious pickets around the edge … that’s my property you’re pushing over, guys!  Heh heh!

My “piece of the Basin” only just survived this impact on the fence-line!

I cannot wait for this work to be completed … and the weather to warm up considerably – I am looking forward to another summer of cricket at the best cricket ground in the world … which, according to Mark’s article, should commence with an HRV Cup match (that’s the T20 domestic competition to non-cricket followers) between the Firebirds and the Stags.  Not a bad way to spend Boxing Day this year, than lazing at the Basin!  🙂

One response to “Flushing out the Basin …

  1. […] Last month, I took a wander through the iconic Basin Reserve to check out the renovations that were taking place there:  https://kiwijem.wordpress.com/2012/09/14/flushing-out-the-basin/ ‎ […]

Leave a Reply

