My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Blog Challenge: Day 30 – my favourite song

on October 23, 2012

Day 30- Your favorite song

I think I’ve already mentioned this earlier in this Challenge … but the song is so GOOD, that it’s worth mentioning again anyway 😉

My favourite song of all time is definitely You Raise Me Up.

Westlife version of my favourite tune

I think I first heard it about 15 years ago, and fell in love with the melody … not to mention the lyrics … immediately!

You Raise Me Up was written by Rolf Lovland and Brendan Graham in 2002 and released on the Secret Garden album titled “Once in a Red Moon.”

I don’t know if it’s the traditional Irish tune in the melody, or the inspirational lyrics that Brendan Graham wrote, but there’s just something about the whole “package” that inspires me and lifts me up.  I was immensely impressed the year that Russell Watson recorded and released the song on one of his albums … and even more impressed when I was privileged to actually hear him sing it live when he toured New Zealand a few years ago!

When I heard that my favourite band, Westlife, were planning to record and release the song as well in 2005, I think I actually cried, I was so blown-away that they would lend their amazing vocal abilities to such an amazing song!  Needless to say, it soon became my favourite track on the “Face to Face” album and favourite part of any concert of theirs I was privileged enough to see live.

If you have never heard the song, or even read the lyrics, and you are feeling sad or depressed about anything, I totally suggest you find a recording somewhere and just sit back and be encouraged 🙂

When I am down and, oh my soul, so weary;
When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
Then, I am still and wait here in the silence,
Until you come and sit awhile with me.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up… To more than I can be.

There is no life – no life without its hunger;
Each restless heart beats so imperfectly;
But when you come and I am filled with wonder,
Sometimes, I think I glimpse eternity.

You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
You raise me up, to walk on stormy seas;
I am strong, when I am on your shoulders;
You raise me up… To more than I can be.

You raise me up… To more than I can be.

Leave a Reply

