My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Book Review: Anne of Green Gables

on November 3, 2012

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There’s no doubt about it, Lucy Maude Montgomery is a stunning author!

I decided it was time for me to revisit her Anne series, after not reading them for probably close to 20 years, and found myself immediately drawn into Anne’s world of Avonlea, and Green Gables, and the usual childhood of getting into trouble, saying the wrong things, and coming through the other side stronger for it.

If you’ve never heard of Anne of Green Gables, or you’ve heard of her and never read the series, I highly recommend you find yourself a copy (hopefully of the entire series of 10 books!) and enjoy her adventures, as only Lucy can tell them!

3 responses to “Book Review: Anne of Green Gables

  1. I definitely need to revisit the Anne of Green Gables books. I have, however, recently visited her world through the two prequels — Before Green Gables and A New Beginning.

    • Jess says:

      Oh, are those prequels written by LM Montgomery also? I might have to look those books up myself 🙂

      • Sorry, I meant I revisited Anne’s world through the prequels, not L.M. Montgomery. Neither was written by Montgomery. One is an authorized book and was written by a Nova Scotian author who was hand picked by the Montgomery estate. The other, was written by Kevin Sullivan who made the Anne of Green Gables movies.

Leave a Reply

