My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

So this is Christmas …

on December 23, 2012

(As the lyrics from the popular Christmas song I have been hearing a lot over the last few weeks, goes!)

I figure it is obligatory to blog at this time and reminisce on the year prior 😉

Just looking back over my photo albums of the pictures I have collected throughout 2012, I’m actually quite glad I am trying to take more pictures of daily events now, as it is quite easy these days to forget just how full our days and years are!

Small things like having the opportunity to meet and say hello to cricket players in domestic, as well as international teams … being privileged to see the South African cricket team in action at the Basin Reserve in March … getting the chance to test my vertigo and see just what the view really is like from the commentary boxes at the Basin Reserve … rare, but satisfactory and hard-fought, victories by the New Zealand team … being hugely blessed by the team behind the Wellington Firebirds franchise … and sharing many, many fun, happy (and thoughtful and sadder) moments with fans from around the country and around the world!

It actually has been a fantastic year, in my opinion, in my cricketing world, and I’m thankful to all the fans, players and other people who made it so great 🙂

And I’m now looking forward to a brilliant summer of domestic AND international cricket ahead … cannot WAIT for the Barmy Army, oh, and the English cricket team, to hit our shores in February!  And of course, I’m hoping that our New Zealand “Black Caps” team do everything they can do to make us proud and satisfied with the performances they put together on the fields of play around the country, and around the world, in the coming months!

A very happy Christmas to all players, no matter which team you are part of, and cricket fans around New Zealand, and around the world … and very best wishes and blessings for 2013!

2012 - a year in cricket!

2012 – a year in cricket!

Leave a Reply

