My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

#jobs4Jess … what I’ve learned!

on June 16, 2013

Okay, so it’s definitely no fun being unemployed!

Apart from the obvious not having an income so you can buy nice things for yourself and friends and family, it can often make you feel totally unwanted and useless, and that is not a healthy state for anyone to be in.

I’m having to go through the whole job application process again after finishing a six-month contract recently, and thought I’d jot down a few things I’ve learned … about myself, as well as the process … and hope it encourages you to keep at the job search and not to get discouraged; you’re actually not the only person out there feeling discouraged about not being able to find and successfully apply for a job 🙂

First observation:  Dress to impress!  

Okay, so it seems like a bit of a cliché, but it actually makes a heap of sense and enhances your chances in front of a prospective employer no end!

I recently attended a work opportunities seminar.  There were about 12 of us, sitting in a room waiting for the presenters to speak with us.  I couldn’t help noticing, as I scanned the room discretely, that there were a lot of denim jeans and tracksuit pants in evidence, and there was only two of us who had dressed ourselves as if we really wanted to start in a job that afternoon!  (I have nothing against jeans and trackies, by the way 😉 … I just reckon if you really want to impress a prospective employer, you’ll make sure you look like you’re ready for work!)

And I know we’re not supposed to discriminate on how someone looks when considering them for a job, but guess what, I think prospective employers do!  And if you don’t actually care about what you look like, they are going to think you’re not going to care about your work and making an effort to do a good job for them, who are in fact going to be paying your wages 😉

You’re probably thinking, a work opportunities seminar isn’t actually a job interview … but actually, in a way, it kind of is!

The people who are presenting job and training opportunities to you at the seminar could be prospective employers too and so will be checking out your attitude and appearance and deciding if you are someone they would want working for them in the future.

And isn’t it a good thing to be practising for the real thing anyway?!  🙂  If you can show you’re serious about wanting to find work, and putting your best foot forward, as the saying goes, that surely is going to make prospective employers look seriously at your application and put you to the top of the list of applicants they have to trawl through 🙂

Second observation:  Be positive!

Believe me, I know how easy it is to get discouraged and not want to bother with the whole application process anymore, especially after weeks of looking for appropriate job vacancies and weeks of interviews, where you feel like nothing you say is making a difference 😉

But it’s important, I reckon, to keep yourself positive and that way, you can project a positive and likeable demeanour to any prospective employers you are introduced to.

And it’s not just to be positive when you finally get to the interview stage, either; right through the process, if you keep your mind focussed on your strengths, and the skills you have to offer, instead of allowing yourself to feel down about not being suitable … yet again … the right job opportunities will come your way.  I mean, think about it – if you were a manager, would you like the guy or girl in the work environment who dragged their feet into the workplace every day, moaning about how they were never good enough … or would you like the bright, breezy, happy person who really, really wanted to make a difference and help his or her workmates and bosses and be the best they could be?!

I think I’ve jotted down enough thoughts for one blog – haha!  I might have to continue this another day …

And believe me, this is more about myself and keeping myself focussed on finding the next new, awesome job opportunity, and so anything I write, is advice to myself first and foremost 😉

If any of you agree or disagree, or find anything useful, or have any other ‘pearls of wisdom’ to impart in the job searching process, please leave a comment or word of advice or encouragement, so this can be shared also.  I mean, we’re all here to help each other anyway, right?  🙂

Good luck and keep at it, to anyone else who might be stuck in the same situation I find myself currently … I’m sure with a little effort and work, you’ll be successful soon! 🙂

One response to “#jobs4Jess … what I’ve learned!

  1. Sillymidoff says:

    Nice work Jess! I am sure the right role for you is just around the corner- keep at it!

Leave a Reply

