My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

You know you’re cricket-obsessed when …

on October 16, 2013

… you measure a roadtrip by which Cricket Association you’re passing through or staying in!

I decided to take a long-weekend off job hunting the other weekend to visit friends at the other end of the North Island … or as it is officially now known, Te Ika-a-Maui 😉

Starting from my beloved Firebirds’ “country,” I didn’t stop in Stags’ country but set up camp in Knights’ country at the fantastic Huka Falls Resort in Taupo (which was, ironically, the cheapest option for a night’s stay when I booked it back when I had an income – haha!)

Image

I certainly had a most relaxing and refreshing stay in Knights’ country, right down to a walk through the gardens on the lake front and a blissful spa-bath in my room!

Image

It was hard to leave Knights’ country the next morning, especially since I knew I was heading for Aces’ country … boo!  (Heh heh, just kidding, guys!)  😉

It also didn’t help having to drive through torrential rain for some of the way (quite scary, not being able to see the road you’re driving on, really!)

Thinking back now, I updated my Facebook status as being in Aces’ country when I arrived at my friends’ place, but really, I was probably back in Knights’ country again … given how far up the Island I had driven 🙂  I think the Knights must be telling me something … I guess I do have a T20 playing shirt from Daniel Flynn and a playing cap signed by Kane Williamson 😉

Image

Anyway, back to the roadtrip …

After a lovely few days with my friends in Aces’ … I mean, Knights’ country … it was time to head back home again to good old Firebirds’ country!

The Knights can try … but I don’t think I will ever stop being a Firebirds fan 🙂  Especially when they have the best cricket ground in the country to play their matches on!

Good luck for the upcoming 2013/14 season, Firebirds!

Leave a Reply

