My corner of the oval

… thoughts from a Kiwi cricket fan

Dear Black Caps …

on January 11, 2015

I missed the opportunity of signing your Book of Best Wishes for the World Cup, so I decided that I would write my own letter to you instead!

Let me start by saying what an absolute privilege it has been to watch the last 13-14 months of cricket, as a New Zealand cricket fan, and see the hard work paying off in so many ways, with results across all forms of cricket!

It will be some time before I forget how it felt being at the Basin Reserve on 18 February, hearing the applause around me and having tears in my eyes as I realised that finally New Zealand was cheering for someone I have cheered for for many years already!

And those same feelings were reciprocated less than 12 months later, on another Tuesday in Wellington, when the fans again stood and applauded for another batting milestone from someone who I personally could watch bat all day (and I did, throughout that second test match at the Basin Reserve this year – heh heh!)

It would be so easy to get lifted off the ground and let all this success and good fortune go to our heads, but, and this is another reason to be proud of this year, I will take a leaf out of your book and keep my feet on the ground and look forward to the next challenge ahead.

Which is the One-Day series against Sri Lanka … and following that, the World Cup competition!

And it will be a challenge.  But I think this team has shown that they are up for this challenge, and they have the personnel to withstand what comes their way each match and learn and adapt to each situation.

And you can be sure that I, for one, will be backing you 100%!

So, Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Grant Elliot, Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Mitch McClenaghan, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, Kane Williamson, Mike Hesson, Mike Sandle, Bob Carter, Shane Bond, Craig McMillan, and to the rest of the team who work tirelessly behind the scenes and never seem to get the recognition success brings sports teams … I say this:  Keep doing what you’ve been doing over the last few months that has got you to this point; it’s not starting again, but building on what has been learned so far and taking it further!

I have full confidence in the skills and abilities and experience in each one of you to be able to take each game as it comes over the next couple of months, and to succeed!

But also to do so as you have done over the last few months – with respect for each other, respect for the opposition, respect for the authorities, and importantly, respect for the game!

Thank you for where you have taken us the fans over the last twelve months; and know that we are supporting you for the next months in what lies ahead!

#backtheBlackCaps … absolutely!!!

Leave a Reply

