Setting myself a challenge …

I find myself wondering these days, in a world of mobile phones, computers and the like, all with varying degrees of social networking capabilities, are we actually any more or less in touch with our friends and family?

I looked in my email in box this week and I haven’t received many emails from friends recently (except for one person and that’s only cause I pester her daily – hehe!) and I got to thinking that maybe I should be making more of an effort to keep in contact with friends as well as family and not just rely on those 140 word updates that flash across my computer or phone screen in moments of my life (that quite often I miss anyway cause I’m asleep and they’re in a different time zone!)

I’m setting myself a challenge to pick a name from my contacts list each day and send them an email, or maybe even a real letter in the post, just to say hi, how’s it going, what’s up, and just let them know I was thinking of them.  (I wonder if my inbox will get any more or less action as a result!)

Feel free to join me in my challenge … or just tell me I’m dreaming and wasting my time – ha ha!

7 thoughts on “Setting myself a challenge …

  1. I wouldn’t say you pester me….. sometimes its nice to talk daily but then other times its a case of i’m tired and all i really wanna do is collapse into bed…yes even this last week with work finishing at 12 noon!!!

    I’m up for the challenge though, about New Year I was thinking I was going to start to make a bigger effort with my friends to be around more to talk to them and remind them that I am here (not that i haven’t been but i haven’t exactly been putting the maximum effort in i could either) and I’ve kinda lapse with some people already…*groans*

    1. Ha ha, thanks for considering my challenge 🙂 It’s also a good way of finding out if your address book is still up to date with everyone’s email addresses too! LOL Will the message get bounced back, or will it get a reply? That is the question! 😉

  2. I think we are all guilty of not e-mailing or writing letters to people like we should be. I know I’m guilty of it. I should write back to a friend, but I haven’t gotten to around it yet. Maybe this long weekend I have coming. If you can access your e-mail if you are at work then we could chat there like we did before. lol

    1. You have a long weekend this weekend? Lucky! Although, we have another long weekend coming up in the first week of June so it’s not too long to wait 🙂

      1. It is bad that we look forward to long weekends and weekend during the week? :p Victoria Day long weekend on the 23th here. Always the fourth Monday of May. No long weekend in June for us. The only months we don’t have a bank holiday is Feb, Mar or April depending on when Good Friday is and June. Rest of the months we do.

Leave a comment